Shubman Gill
Rate this post

We use affiliate links. If you purchase something using one of these links, we may receive compensation or commission.

Shubman Gill

IND vs AUS Test Match: On Day 3 of the fourth Test against Australia, Shubman Gill continued his second century in the longest format of the game. In the third Test in Indore, Gill was chosen to start with Rohit Sharma after KL Rahul was benched by the team management due to his unsatisfactory performance.

Gill performed below his potential in the third Test, but he outperformed himself in Ahmedabad. The young Indian opener scored just his second century in red-ball cricket, leading a third-wicket stand of more than 100 runs with Cheteshwar Pujara.

Gill was regrettably replaced by KL Rahul in the games despite making his first Test century during the Bangladesh series. But, Gill made a good return in Indore and really excelled in Ahmedabad after Rahul struggled in the first few games against Australia.

When Gill reached triple digits, the entire Indian camp leapt to their feet in celebration. As Gill scored, the former India captain cheered him on while beaming broadly.

But, India suffered a serious setback just after Gill’s century when Todd Murphy dismissed Cheteshwar Pujara for LBW. After 63 overs, India had a score of 188/2, with Gill and Kohli at the wicket.

India vs Australia Test match Day 4 Scorecard:

Australia Tour of India 2023
Australia Tour of India 2023

India Batting: Current Indian Batting in progress.

Batters R B 4s 6s SR
Rohit Sharma CPT c Marnus Labuschagne b Matthew Kuhnemann 35 58 3 1 60.34
Shubman Gill lbw Nathan Lyon 128 235 12 1 54.46
Cheteshwar Pujara lbw Todd Murphy 42 121 3 0 34.71
Virat Kohli NOT OUT 57 124 5 0 45.96
Ravindra Jadeja NOT OUT 13 47 0 1 27.65
Shreyas Iyer
Srikar Bharat WKT
Ravichandran Ashwin
Axar Patel
Umesh Yadav
Mohammed Shami
Extras (nb 2, b 4, lb 3) 9
Total (3 wickets, 97.1 overs) 289

Australia Batting:

Batters R B 4s 6s SR
Usman Khawaja lbw Axar Patel 180 422 21 0 42.65
Travis Head c Ravindra Jadeja b Ravichandran Ashwin 32 44 7 0 72.72
Marnus Labuschagne b Mohammed Shami 3 20 0 0 15.00
Steve Smith CPT b Ravindra Jadeja 38 135 3 0 28.14
Peter Handscomb b Mohammed Shami 17 27 3 0 62.96
Cameron Green c Srikar Bharat b Ravichandran Ashwin 114 170 18 0 67.05
Alex Carey WKT c Axar Patel b Ravichandran Ashwin 0 4 0 0 0.00
Mitchell Starc c Shreyas Iyer b Ravichandran Ashwin 6 20 0 0 30.00
Nathan Lyon c Virat Kohli b Ravichandran Ashwin 34 96 6 0 35.41
Todd Murphy lbw Ravichandran Ashwin 41 61 5 0 67.21
Matthew Kuhnemann NOT OUT 0 7 0 0 0.00
Extras (nb 2, w 1, b 9, lb 3) 15
Total (all out167.2 overs) 480

The home team still trail by 191 runs.

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

%d bloggers like this: